Why is some of my cheap vinyl quieter than audiophile vinyl?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Jamie Tate, Mar 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jamie Tate

Jamie Tate New Member Thread Starter

I was playing some newly opened Classic Records pressings of several Genesis albums (180 and 200 gram). I cleaned each record before I played it and was shocked at how noisy they were. Lots of pop and ticks throughout and I could hear the surface noise through the music.

Then I play a Cars Greatest Hits LP that actually had mud on it that I bought for $1. The muddy Cars LP was SILENT!!! I don't mean it was just quiet, I mean not one pop or tick and the surface noise could only be heard if you turn the volume way up between songs. After the Cars I played an old DOT LP and same thing. Dead silent vinyl.

What's happening here?

2. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

Maybe has something to do with static? My new 180-gram LP's seem to be a lot more prone to static than my older albums.

Strangely enough, I find that albums that I played more, sound better. I have an old copy of Rush's Carress of Steel, and side one, which I played a lot, has little noise. Side two, which I know I never played but once, is a clean, glossy looking, unlistenable piece of crap. Maybe our audiophile albums will all sound better in a few years, no? ;)

3. Stax Fan

Stax Fan Forum Resident

Because some audiophile vinyl is overrated and a lot of regular vinyl is underrated. :)

Stylus profile can have a big effect on this. Line contact types are generally quieter in the groove with elipticals having little in the way of forgiveness in this respect. They turn the tables with regard to VTA sensitivity, though (more forgiving of VTA). Classic Records pressings are a bigger pain in 200g form as is now pretty common knowledge, but you evidently lucked out and got some funky 180g copies. :D I feel your pain.

CDs have their charms. :)

4. Sckott